PDA

View Full Version : Proxy sever settings


cootcee64
12/05/2007, 20:14
hello once again,
hopefully this post is in corrct forum if not sorry in advance.
i have a general query regarding proxy server settings on pc.
im a newbie so be kind.

when i try to connect to internet, i sometimes get unable to display page error.
I have checked my internet connection settings and not sure if it is spyware related.

On pc my internet settings the 'Use Proxy Server' settings keeps getting checked (tick in box) with out my knowledge and the following settings have appeared.

proxy server 41.223.68.49 Port 80

Can someone please help me as i have scanned computer for spyware etc but cant find anything.
Is this a virus or spyware on my pc? if so how can i be rid of the pesky thing?
any help appreciated

James
12/05/2007, 20:52
That's definitely some sort of spyware. You do not want this as it means all your Internet traffic is going via someones server - meaning they can look at everything you go on and capture your details.

Run a spyware check using Lavasoft AdAware and also Spybot Search and destroy - as well as a full virus scan (make sure it's up to date).

James

Mark
12/05/2007, 21:00
Also you might want to try the AVG one which is very good: http://free.grisoft.com/softw/70free/setup/avg75free_467a1008.exe

When I first run this on my PC, it found 50 naughties on my PC that the other regulars didn't eg Spybot etc. Granted they were nothing nasty but it was nice to know they were picked up.:)

cootcee64
12/05/2007, 22:32
thanks again James for input.
i have run ad aware and also search & destroy both i have used for ages. granted ad aware does find stuff but i merely delete it, however still having probs, when i try to connect to internet i still 'get unable to connect to server'
i check my settings and behold my 'Use a proxy server' is checked. same server address as my previous post.
is there a way you can find who this s*** is, who keeps pis**** on my pc (lol)
also big hello to mark and thanks for your input. unfortunately your link would not work (probably a virus) :)
gotta go and press ma kilt!!
cheers :) and keep up the great work

Mark
12/05/2007, 22:37
http://whois.domaintools.com/41.223.68.49

Blacklist staus: CLEAR. I wonder if this has been hijacked?

tboorman
13/05/2007, 11:37
That's the IP address of a free public proxy server.

As Mark says, give the free AVG Anti-Spyware a try - none of them are perfect, and it's worth scanning your PC with several of them.

Paul_ADSL24
13/05/2007, 16:53
You wouldn't happen to be running any software that allegedly helps clear your digital tracks or "anonymise" you would you?

cootcee64
13/05/2007, 22:11
hi paul,
please be specific regarding 'anonymise' software?
what is it? i have no idea what you mean.
has my pc been compromised?
geez what now, do i flush my pc with disinfectant?

Paul_ADSL24
13/05/2007, 22:32
It follows on from TBoorman's comment about that address belonging to a free public proxy server. Generally speaking you would only use such a server if you were trying to be anonymous on the Internet. Various products exist to help with that goal and I wondered if you were using one of them. http://www.anonymizer.com/ is an example.

Of course if you aren't using something similar to that then it does suggest that your PC has been compromised. You have no way of verifying if the server at 41.223.68.49 is logging everything or not.

The best advice is to run all the scans suggested. i.e. Spybot, AdAware, AVG Spyware, and http://housecall.trendmicro.com. You may also want to run HijackThis and post the results of a scan at http://forums.spywareinfo.com/. It may be worth a post on the spywareinfo forums anyway to see if any of the experts over there can offer further advice

cootcee64
14/05/2007, 18:31
hi paul,
thanks for reply regarding possible compromised pc.
i have just updated and scanned my pc and these get flagged.

@statse.webtrendslive.com
@doubleclick.net/
@ehg-anonymiserinc.hitbox.com
@hitbox.com

i regularly scan pc several times a day cause of all the 'hostiles' out there.
should i be concerned at any of the above baddies?
thanks in advance

tinyclanger
15/05/2007, 00:03
Umm..I don't really know if this link (http://www.practicallynetworked.com/support/sticky_proxy.htm) would help, but it's kind of related..a ISP branded browser reloading proxy setting even after a manual disable.

There might be something there that might at least point you in the right direction:D

Good Luck

Paul_ADSL24
15/05/2007, 11:43
If you're not using anonymise software and nobody else is using your PC and enabling this option then I strongly suggest you run AVG antispyware, http://housecall.trendmicro.com, http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/programs.php#hijackthis and post in the SpywareInfo forums with a description of your problem and a log report from HijackThis

cootcee64
15/05/2007, 21:41
thanks paul for input.
i have since scanned pc with avg, search & destroy and ad aware. pc seems to be ok now.
cheers

James
15/05/2007, 22:16
Great :)

Mark
15/05/2007, 22:18
Glad you got to the bottom of it:)